Tom Watson Brown Book Award

The Society of Civil War Historians solicits nominations for the Tom Watson Brown Book Award for books published in 2010. The $50,000 prize is awarded annually to the author of the outstanding book on the causes, conduct, and effects, broadly defined, of the Civil War.

All genres of scholarship within the field are eligible, including, but not exclusive to, monographs, synthetic works presenting original interpretations, and biographies. Works of fiction, poetry, and textbooks will not be considered. Jurors will consider nominated works' scholarly and literary merit as well as the extent to which they make original contributions to our understanding of the period.

Stephen V. Ash, Professor of History at the University of Tennessee, will chair the prize jury. The other members are Carol Reardon, George Winfree Professor of American History at the Pennsylvania State University, and Stephen Berry, Associate Professor of History at the University of Georgia. Tad Brown, President of the Watson-Brown Foundation, will serve as a non-voting member of the jury.

Publishers are asked to send nominated books (only those published in 2010 will be considered) directly to the four jurors no later than January 31, 2011. The winner will be announced by August 1, 2011. The award will be presented at the SCWH banquet at the Southern Historical Association meeting, where the winner will deliver a formal address that will be published in a subsequent issue of the Journal of the Civil War Era.

Original post by http://scwh.la.psu.edu/book_award.shtml

©2008 StudentExpert - About Us - Privacy Policy - Contact