Erasmus Mundus - SPACEMASTER Scholarships

Joint European Master in Space Science and Technology, 120 ECTS in a 2-year degree programme. The main objective of the Course is to combine the great diversity of space expertise at six European universities and two Third-Country universities to a common platform of competence within the guidelines of the Bologna process. The educational cooperation is supported by scientific and industrial organisations, thus providing direct contacts with professional research and industry.

Another objective is to give the students cross-disciplinary extension from laboratory and computer simulation environments to hands-on work with stratospheric balloons, rockets, satellite and radar control, robotics, sensor data fusion, automatic control and multi-body dynamics.

The Course brings together students from around the world to share their existing competence in space science and technology and to develop it with Europe's space industry and research community. The added value of the SpaceMaster Course compared with other Courses in the same field can be summarised as:

  • structured cooperation between the academic institutions and industry
  • education influenced by current advances in research
  • increased intercultural understanding and integration
  • structured cooperation between the universities via the use of the ECTS grading system, combining together different educational models
  • exchange of experience for both the academic and administrative staff
  • a wide range of specializations improves career prospects of students.

Course Structure
The Course has a common first year for all students. 1st semester takes place at JMUW, Würzburg, Germany, 2nd semester takes place at LTU, Kiruna Space Campus, Sweden. During the 3rd semester the students are distributed among the six European universities. The students select the track of specialization for the 3rd and 4th semesters when they apply. The distribution for the 3rd and 4th semesters is finalized in the middle of the 2nd semester. During the 4th semester the students perform their Master thesis projects in six European universities and two Third-Country universities.

The Master Degree is achieved after successful accomplishment of 120 ECTS. The student who fulfil the requirements for the Master Degree receive a double Master Diploma, i.e. a Diploma certificate from Luleå University of Technology and a Diploma certificate from the second European partner university.

Bachelor’s degree or Swedish Kandidatexamen with a minimum of 180 ECTS.
Areas: physics (space, plasma, nuclear, particle, fluid dynamics, aerodynamics), space science, planetology, astronomy, atmospheric science, remote sensing, numerical simulations, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, space engineering, aerospace engineering, robotics, automation, communication, electronics, mechatronics, control theory.

A minimum of 22.5 ECTS in mathematics at the university level is required.

Erasmus Mundus scholarships will be awarded to students and scholars for each of the five Rounds of SpaceMaster beginning 2010-2014. The scholarships are available for EU and non-EU students. The number of scholarships for each Round will be defined by the EU Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA).
  • EM scholarship amount for non-EU students* is 24000 EUR /year
  • students who come from a country other than an EU Member State, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway and who are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in one of these countries
  • EM scholarship amount for EU students** is 11500 EUR /year
  • includes Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway
Original post by http://spacemaster.eu

©2008 StudentExpert - About Us - Privacy Policy - Contact