United Nations Public Service Awards

The United Nations Public Service Awards is the most prestigious international recognition of excellence in public service. It rewards the creative achievements and contributions of public service institutions that lead to a more effective and responsive public administration in countries worldwide. Through an annual competition, the UN Public Service Awards promotes the role, professionalism and visibility of public service.

All Public organizations/agencies at national and sub-national levels, as well as public/private partnerships and organizations performing outsourced public service functions, are eligible for nomination. The United Nations Public Service Awards take into consideration a geographical distribution of five regions. In order to level the playing field for nominations received from countries with varying levels of development and income, the following five regions have been established:
  • Africa
  • Asia and the Pacific
  • Europe and North America
  • Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Western Asia
Nominations have to be made by another entity than the institution being nominated, i.e. self-nominations will not be accepted. Eligible nominators include: Governmentdepartments and agencies; universities, non-governmental organizations, professional associations, etc.Purely scientific innovations, e.g. in medical or environmental science, do not qualify for theUnited Nations Public Service Awards.

Categories and Criteria
The United Public Service Awards is given in 5 categories:
  1. Preventing and combating corruption in the public service
  2. Improving the delivery of public services
  3. Fostering participation in policy-making decisions through innovative management
  4. Advancing knowledge management in government
  5. Promoting gender-responsive delivery of public services 
Original post by

©2008 StudentExpert - About Us - Privacy Policy - Contact