MLA Bibliography Fellowships

In 2003, the Executive Council approved a request by the Advisory Committee on the MLA International Bibliography for the creation of MLA Bibliography fellowships. 

These fellowships recognize the efforts of scholars who index materials on behalf of the MLA International Bibliography.

Fellowships are for a three-year period, beginning 1 July 2011 and ending 30 June 2014. The MLA seeks scholars of any level of seniority interested in training as field bibliography fellows and able to deliver at least one hundred citations each year. This opportunity is open to potential as well as existing field bibliographers. The MLA will provide materials and training meetings at the annual convention. Fellows attending training sessions will have their conference registration fees waived. On completion of the fellowship, they will receive a stipend of $500 and a certificate at the awards ceremony during the Presidential Address at the MLA convention. It is hoped that recipients of these fellowships will continue submitting citations throughout their careers.

Applications for the 2011 field bibliography fellowships are due 1 April.

The basic criteria for application are

1. MLA membership
2. Master's degree or PhD in a relevant field
3. Access to scholarly material for indexing

Please submit a letter of request, including qualifications and reasons for applying for the fellowship, and a current résumé or CV. Materials may be sent to Helen Slavin, MLA International Bibliography, 26 Broadway, 3rd floor, New York, NY 10004-1789 (hslavin@mla.org).

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2010 awards who will serve as fellows from 2010 to 2013. Congratulations to the following:

Anna Faktorovich, instructor, Pennsylvania Highlands Community College, and editor, Pennsylvania Literary Journal
Catalina Florina Florescu, independent scholar
Brian Gillis, graduate student, University of California, Berkeley
Matthew Harrick, librarian, Brooklyn College
Ingrid Jendrzejewski, independent scholar
Robin Katz, librarian, University of Vermont
James Kelly, humanities bibliographer, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

We are also pleased to announce the third MLA Bibliography fellowships award recipients who have served for the three years 2006–09. The following five scholars received certificates of accomplishment and checks for $500 at the 2009 MLA Annual Convention during the Presidential Address:

Mildred L. Jackson, associate dean for collections, University of Alabama
Dawn Lawson, East Asian studies librarian, New York University
Shirley O. Lua, associate professor, De La Salle University
Susan Oliver, lecturer, University of Salford
Maria C. Willstedt, visiting assistant professor, Florida State University
Original post by http://www.mla.org/mla_bibliography_fel

©2008 StudentExpert - About Us - Privacy Policy - Contact